Welcome To Ranchi University

 Ranchi University came into existence on the 12th of July, 1960 as a teaching-cum-affiliating university with headquarters at Ranchi. At present, the University spans five districts of Jharkhand, namely, Ranchi, Gumla, Khunti, Simdega and Lohardaga. Right since its inception Ranchi University has been alive to the ever increasing demands of higher education. Keeping apace with changing times, the University today offers vocational courses.For the less privileged students coming from the scheduled tribes or scheduled castes, special coaching classes are engaged to prepare them for competitive examinations.

The syllabi for main stream courses in science, humanities and commerce too have been upgraded to meet the requirements of University Grants Commission (UGC).

In sports and cultural activities too the University has carved a niche for itself. It has made its presence felt at the all India level in cricket, hockey, football, and athletics. Regular cultural activities at the college and the university level are an integral part of the University's academics calendar.

Following creation of Jharkhand on November 15, 2000, the state government has decided to build a new capital, which will be as Greater Ranchi. Ranchi University too will find a place of pride in the new capital area. Deputy Prime Minister L. K. Advani laid the foundation stone of the new university campus on November 15, 2002 when the state celebrated its second foundation day. The new campus, spread over 729acres,will have modern study centers, CD library racks, modern laboratories, playing grounds with the latest equipments, cultural centers, etc.

 The University then covered whole of Jharkhand, except Santhal Parganas. In 1992, Ranchi University was bifurcated to create Vinoba Bhave University, reducing itsarea by nearly half. In 2009 Ranchi University was divided twice – in January to create Nilambar Pitambar University,at Medininagar, and in August 2009 to create Kolhan University,at Chaibasa. At present, the University spans five districts of Jharkhand,namely, Ranchi,Gumla, Khunti, Simdega and Lohardaga...............See more Download